Knews and Knotes

Boys Lacrosse
After finishing a tough spring with a record of 3–15, Boys Varsity Lacrosse will say goodbye to many key players, including starting goalie and Coaches Cup award winner Jimmy Cochran ’14. The team did enjoy sparks of greatness this season when it beat St. Mark’s 11–6, Groton 10–7, and Milton Academy 12–11 in triple overtime.


Varsity Golf won the ISL this year in the most succesful season it’s seen in over twenty years of existence. The team saw its numbers double to 26 players as it welcomed a host of new talent, including powerhouse newcomers Chloe and Sophie DiPetrillo (both ’15) and Harry Theodore ’17. Season highlights included Chloe DiPetrillo’s win-clinching putt against Belmont Hill and a strong third-place finish in the Kingman Tournament. The Coaches Cup was awarded to Captain Juan Yanes. ’14.

Boys Varsity Baseball held on to its 18-season winning streak this year with an ISL-second record of 17–3 overall. Co-Captains Cameron O’Neill and Mike Samko (both ’14) led the team to key victories over Milton, St. Sebastian’s, and Rivers. Though Mike, this year’s Coaches Cup recipient, will graduate with the rest of the team’s senior leadership, the team looks to a bright future with nine returning players next season.

Girls Varsity Softball saw a strong finish in the ISL with a season record of 9–1, their best record in the last decade. Among the spring highlights was a spate of home runs that propelled the team to a comeback win against Governor’s. The team will say a reluctant goodbye to Co-Captains and four-year team members Sara Allan and Courtney Erickson (both ’14), the two recipients of this year’s Coaches Cup.

Lead by Co-Captains Jack Marshall and Cindy Yang (both ’14), the sailing team capped off a great season with a third-place finish in its final Massachusetts Bay League race. The team also qualified for the Massachusetts State Championship and the New England Fleet Race Championship in Connecticut. Jack and Cindy were this year’s Coaches Cup recipients.

Boys Tennis
Ending with a record of 17–6, Boys Varsity Tennis, led by Co-Captains Zach Lovett and Adam Carlson (both ’14), played an exciting season that culminated in a 4–3 win against rival Belmont Hill in the New England Class B Semifinals before a tough loss to Hopkins School in the competition’s finals. Zach was awarded this year’s Coaches Cup.

Girls Lacrosse
Anchored by a core group of senior contributors, Girls Varsity Lacrosse finished the season with a record of 5–11.  The team also benefitted from a lot of young talent including midfielder Kristina Cartwright ’16, midfielder Maia Noyes, and starting goalie Jules Kennedy (both ’17). Season highlights include wins against Rivers and Pingree.  The Coaches Cup went to seniors Rebecca Moore and Skylar Smith (both ’14.)

Boys Crew
Despite a challenging spring in which Boys Varsity Crew recorded only a handful of wins, the team of young rowers gained a lot of experience and managed to qualify for the New England Interscholastic Rowing Association Championships. Captains Nathan Grimshaw ’14 and James Lindberg ’15 showed good leadership, and the Coaches Cup went to Jeremy Grill ’14.

Girls Crew
Strong leadership from Co-Captains Taylor Richard, Katie Luniewicz, and Blaire Hunter (all ’14) powered Girls Varsity Crew to a proud finish this season, despite a nasty bout of wrist tendonitis in early May that banished Taylor to land and triggered line-up changes throughout the program. Three of the four team boats nonetheless advanced out of their heats during the New England Interscholastic Rowing Association Championships, with the fourth varsity boat ultimately winning a silver medal and the third varsity boat placing fourth. Katie and Blaire both received Coaches Cups.

Girls Tennis
Holding a record of 9–6, Girls Varsity Tennis finished near the top of the ISL in a season filled with many standout games. During an exciting match against St. Paul’s, the Knights were down 7–5 before storming back for a victory, thanks to two clutch set triumphs by Captain Ania Aliev ’14, who went on to win this year’s Coaches Cup.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.